Nominations for Section Officer positions 2020


On Wednesday Nov 6th, the Vancouver Section approved and announced the list of candidates nominated by the Section, for elected officer positions in 2020.

As part of the yearly election process, nominations for officer (elected) positions are solicited and the Nominations committee considers all eligible candidates for each elected officer position.  The Nominations Committee recommends one (or two) candidates for each position, and these are approved by the Vancouver Section executive committee as the “Section slate” of candidates.

Members who are eligible to run for office may still do so, via the petition process.  However the deadline for submission of petition for this years election is Dec. 4th.  After the close of the petition nomination period, election ballots will be held as needed for those positions with more than one candidate.

The Vancouver Section nominated slate for elected officer positions for 2020 follows:


Section Chair Mike Paraskake
Section Vice Chair Steven McClain
Section Treasurer Matthew Wilder
Section Secretary Jacqueline Nichols
Northern BC  Subsection <vacant>
Okanagan Subsection Youry Khmelevsky
Power Electronics Martin Ordonez
Joint Applied Physics Ahmed Hussein
Joint Power & Energy Kenny Poon
Joint Management Darrell Koskinen
Joint Solid State Circuits & Technology Shahriar Mirabbasi
Signal Processing Parvaneh Saeedi
EMB Chapter <vacant>
Joint Industry Applications & Electronics <vacant>
Oceans, Geoscience & Remote Sensing Jacqueline Nichols *
Joint Circuits & Systems Ljiljana Trajkovic
Joint Computing Mandeep Pannu
Joint Communications Vincent Wong
Electron Devices Michael Adachi
Joint Control, Robotics & Cybernetics Ryozo Nagamune
Joint Aerospace & Electromagnetics Dave Michelson
Life Members Affinity Group Carl Zanon
WiE Affinity Group Selyn Chen
YP Affinity Group Ana Laura Gonzalez
Consultants Network Affinity Group <vacant>


Members having any questions concerning the nominations process or the election process in general are invited to contact:

Guillaume Boisset

IEEE Vancouver Section
Nominations Committee Chair for 2020


NOTE the Vancouver Section also has many other executive committee chair roles.  A summary of these executive committee positions appears on the Vancouver Section website under the Section Executive tab. These positions are not elected.  All section members interested in serving on one of the executive committees are invited to contact the Section Chair.

Leave a Reply