Section Scholarship Winners Announced


The IEEE Vancouver Section congratulates the outstanding IEEE Student members who are this year’s recipients of the Vancouver Section Scholarship awards.

At the recent Vancouver Section Annual General Meeting on March 30th, Vancouver Section Chair Matthew Wilder, on behalf of the Section Scholarship Committee, announced the scholarship winners for all four Vancouver Section Scholarship awards, including the new scholarship, named in honour of Dr. John S. MacDonald:

Thurb Cushing Scholarship Award

– Sayra Gorgani   (UBC Okanagan)

Hector J. MacLeod Scholarship Award

– Clinton Gaudet  (BCIT)

John Deane Scholarship Award

– Vahideh Shirmohammadli  (SFU)

John S. MacDonald Scholarship Award

– Talisha Griesbach   (UBC Vancouver)

Each of the awards this year were in the amount of $1,500.  Due to the online nature of the AGM this year, certificates and award funds will be presented to the winners as soon as possible after the AGM.

For more information on the Vancouver Section Scholarships, please visit:


The IEEE Vancouver Section Scholarships are funded by donations made by members and friends of the Vancouver Section, and by special donations make by the Section itself.  Contributions made by individuals are tax deductible.  For additional information and to contribute to the Vancouver Section Scholarship fund, please visit: